top of page
  • Writer's pictureK.E. Harriet

I was Going to Write a Blog post, but I Wrote a Short Romance Story Instead…



Happy Pancake Day!


I know it’s late but as I’ve only just finished munching the scrumptious batch of pancakes whipped up from one of Grandma’s old family recipes, it is still Pancake Day for me.


Mmm, pancakes…


Now I had fully intended to write a proper blog post last week, but when another fiction series for one of my clients recently ended, I found myself with a bit of free time. So naturally I wrote a romance short story instead.


In my defence I had been playing around with some ideas for a few months, such as secret admirers, crossed-wires and mysterious crimson envelopes... So when Valentine’s Day rolled around I couldn’t resist the challenge of writing a sweet Valentine’s Day short to entertain readers while I finished my next novel, A Spring Romance with the Earl.


Almost ten thousand words and a few drafts later, I have a brand spanking new romance story to publish, and the original blog post I meant to write is now gathering dust on an imaginary shelf in my brain. Sorry.



A Belated Valentine’s Day Gift


The only problem with writing a Valentine’s Day story on Valentine’s Day itself, is that it was a bit too late to publish to Amazon in time for the holiday. So I actually planned on putting the story aside to publish next year in time for Valentine’s Day 2022.


But then a small, shrill voice hissed inside my head: ‘Are you quite insane? Readers are always looking out for new romance reads, so why on earth don’t you just publish the ruddy thing so that they can have another story to dive into.’



A Free Romance Story Giveaway


So this is why you’re getting a new short romance read instead. This upcoming story is a bit longer than my other short reads, but I hope it’ll still provide you with something sweet, fun and heartwarming to escape into before I hit the publish button on A Spring Romance.


Now I hope to get the new short story up within the next few weeks, editing and cover permitting. And as a special treat for my readers I will be giving it away for free!


So although it will be too late for Valentine’s Day, if you've subscribed please keep your eyes peeled for an email that will be winging its way to let you know as soon as my latest romance story is free. Or simply scroll to the bottom of the page to subscribe.


In the meantime, just watch this space and have a belated Happy Valentine’s Pancake Day.


Happy Reading!

Kate

14 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page