top of page
  • Writer's pictureK.E. Harriet

Happy New Year!

It’s already a few weeks into a brand new year and here we’ve just had our first brief sprinkle of snow lightly dusting the nearby fields and moss-dappled rooftops.


Photo by Andy Holmes on Unsplash


And while I know for some it feels as if we’re already well into January, for others it may feel as if 2020 never ended.


But how ever you spent the holiday season or saw in the New Year, I do hope that you found a gorgeous book or two to escape into during the long winter nights.


New Year’s Resolutions


Yet as daylight lengthens minute by minute, you might have already eked out tentative plans for the new year. And perhaps like countless other book lovers during this season, you may have already made a New Year’s resolution to read a bit more in 2021.


Last year I made a resolution to re-read more beloved books from my childhood and as a result I’m now drawing near to the heart-stopping finale of Watership Down. And few things are quite as festive as snuggling up in a warm cosy blanket with a nice hot mug of steaming cocoa to read a childhood favourite on a frosty winter’s night.


But although I’ve enjoyed embarking on nightly reading adventures with the intrepid band of rabbits led by their chief Hazel, I am still dreading the little post-book slump that comes after reading the very last page. That moment when you close the book and ask: What on earth do I read next?


I do however want to finish more of the books I’ve received as gifts over the holidays. Penned by authors from different genres such as J.K. Rowling to Arthur C. Clarke, they often help restock the creative well between writing books for my clients and readers.



Return to Birling Grove


Unfortunately I am one of those sponges who can’t read other romances whilst penning my own work, unless I want another author’s delicious plot to inadvertently worm its way into my book. But as a book lover who also enjoys writing about her plucky heroines’ romantic adventures, I can’t wait to dispatch my next book in the Earl series for readers to enjoy, so I can also tuck into a few of those romances still waiting patiently on my TBR list.


As I finish my second novel, A Spring Romance with the Earl, I do hope the reader will have as much fun as I have returning to the close-knit village of Birling Grove. And as the nights start to thaw, I also hope they'll enjoy discovering whether the budding romance between Jess and the Earl will really start to blossom in the spring.



A Spring Romance with the Earl


In this latest novel we join Jess Smith on further romantic misadventures as her Christmas romance is thrown into jeopardy when the earl’s friends express their rather public disapproval in a high-society magazine.


Jess returns to London to escape their scorn, only to find out her now-married childhood crush Matthew Churchill is expecting his first child. As once-buried feelings all come flooding back, she begins to wonder if her old school nemesis Amanda Huntley will steal all her dreams after all.


Yet no matter how hard Jess tries to put her festive romance behind her, a mishap means she is drawn back to the village and she has no choice but to take over as chair of the Birling Grove Farmer’s Ball.


However, this time not only does Jess have to navigate a dispute between the earl and the ball’s committee, but she must also juggle a lucrative but high maintenance new client whilst helping out on the farm.


Will Jess and Christopher rekindle their romance? Or will the schemes of Jess’s old nemesis Amanda, her conniving mother Patricia and old flames that just refuse to die, all conspire to keep the lovers apart and sabotage the village’s historic ball?


Anyway I hope you’ll be thrilled to visit Birling Grove in this standalone novel and fall in love with Jess and Christopher all over again.



A Book by Its Cover


In the meantime a Christmas Romance for the Earl has a brand new cover, copies of which I will be giving away free when the sequel A Spring Romance comes out in late March.


A brand new cover for A Christmas Romance with the Earl


So, if you wish to know when I’ll be giving my books away for free or when my next book is out, please click here or scroll to the bottom of the page to subscribe.


Hopefully it will give you something to look forward to this spring as the buds start to open on the trees and fresh hope blossoms wherever you are in the world. In the meantime, I wish you all a happier, brighter and safer year for 2021!


Happy reading!


Kate


p.s. If you are still looking for a cosy romance read to escape into this January, simply click here. Or subscribe below to be the first to know when my next novel is out and get sneak peeks of my latest romance books.

11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page