top of page
  • Writer's pictureK.E. Harriet

A Summer Romance with the Earl Beckons...

It’s been a while since I last posted, as I wanted to give you all a month’s break after the flurry of posts during my romance books giveaway.

Warning this picture contains plump, glossy scarlet strawberries that are good enough to eat. Yum!

It's the great British Summer! by Raghavendra Mithare


HERE IN THE village, midsummer has not only blessed us with bright blue skies (and rainy spells), but the garden is now filled with a juicy crop of scarlet strawberries-----all ready to be smothered in cream as we sit back and enjoy Wimbledon.


Although according to the garden's purple clouds of lavender it’s still summer, the apple trees are already sporting small rosy fruit in time for the autumn harvest. And it’s while watching this ever changing summerscape that I persevere through the editing stage of A Summer Romance with the Earl.



A New Romance with the Earl


So as I finish the fourth romance book of the An Earl for All Seasons series, how are things going?


On the plus side I’ve made steady daily progress, though a program malfunction (occupational hazard!) meant at one stage I had to use an antique copy of Word to rescue my entire novel from a botched save.


Thanks Microsoft.


But technological hiccups aside I have enjoyed writing the latest novel in beleaguered copywriter Jess Smith’s romantic misadventures for you. However, the new challenges Jess faces in this latest romance book have also thrown up new challenges in writing.


Jess’s Return to Birling Grove


A Summer Romance with the Earl sees Jess return to the now sun-drenched village of Birling Grove, looking forward to a much-awaited date with the handsome Lord Burness.


But as the vineyard grows ever more successful and Jess takes on the campaign for Burness Hall’s restaurant launch, storm clouds start to gather with the unexpected arrival of the earl’s meddling aunt and her beautiful and single French niece.


With Jess also burdened with the responsibilities of farming life and pressure for the earl to honour his familial duties, will Jess and Lord Burness get another chance at romance?



Facing New Challenges


For this novel I had to learn about the art of preparing and showing cattle at a agricultural show, as my own experience as a spectator has largely involved enjoying the traditional bands, eyeing up sparkling new tractors and marvelling at giant Shire horses.


Trying to incorporate this into the story so that it feels real, proved to be the hardest and most time-consuming part of writing this novel. I also touch on the responsibilities of owning sprawling country estates, which despite their fairytale appearance can often be a source of financial and family conflict.



The Pitter Patter of Tiny Feet?


Ultimately the way Jess navigates her relationship with the earl, in spite of these challenges and the machinations of his scheming aunt the Duchess d’Oger, that's really the driving force behind this romantic novel.


Jess must also cope with the news that childhood crush Matthew Churchill and her former school bully Amanda are really expecting the pitter patter of tiny feet…


All in all, my hope is that you will enjoy reading this fourth book in the An Earl for All Seasons series as much as I have enjoyed writing it.



Until Next Time...


Meanwhile I will let you know as soon as A Summer Romance with the Earl is ready for you to download onto your Kindle.


I admit I can be a bit of a perfectionist at times, who would rather write the best book I can than produce a hurriedly written novel with a rushed ending. But I do promise to get it published and out to you as soon as I am able.


I’ve also updated this website with a page that features direct links to my romance books, so while you are waiting please feel free to click here and try any of the sweet romance books you have not already downloaded.


In the meantime do keep an eye on this website or better yet sign up here and I'll let you know as soon as your next romance read is out.


Until then...


Enjoy your summer and happy romance reading!


Kate







Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page