top of page
  • Writer's pictureK.E. Harriet

A Final Free Romance Short Before Valentine’s Day

Updated: Jan 11, 2022


AS THE NEW Year’s fireworks begin to fade, the last of the turkey leftovers are scoffed (turkey and cranberry sauce sandwiches, anyone?) and the last of the Christmas decorations have been tucked away, you may have already started on your New Year’s resolutions.



If, like me, one of your resolutions in 2022 is to read more books for pleasure then I may be able to help!



An Early Valentine’s Day Present


Once again, I am giving away one of my romance stories FREE to celebrate the launch of my second novel A Spring Romance with the Earl as well as hopefully the beginning of a brighter and better new year.


So if you're looking for a heart-warming meet-cute romance story to snuggle up with this January, then please make sure to grab your very own free copy of: The Girl in the Red Scarf from this SATURDAY 8th January 2022.


Especially if you’re yearning for a sweet short story with a little excitement, a little Valentine’s Day magic and a little splash of romance thrown in.


Will Beth's Secret Valentine turn out to be her Mr. Right?


So, what happens in this sweet Valentine's Day romance?


The Girl in the Red Scarf

It’s Valentine’s Day and greetings card writer Beth Fernsby is planning the most UNROMANTIC Valentine’s Day that she can possibly think of for her holiday-phobic boyfriend Scott. But when he cancels their plans YET AGAIN, Beth is disappointed until she creates the perfect Valentine’s Day for herself. However, when an unexpected Valentine’s card lands on her doormat inviting her on a date, Beth must work out just who her secret admirer is.

Is it her boyfriend Scott? The handsome doctor from her building? Or her slimy neighbour Nick…?


So if you are looking for a sweet romance story, set in a little Kentish town in England to curl up with during these chilly winter months, then make sure you grab your free copy from this Saturday (tomorrow)!


I hope you’ll find this short romantic book as enjoyable, exciting and as delightful to read as it was to write!



A Summer Romance with the Earl


In the meantime, as I embark on writing the further romantic adventures of beleaguered copywriter Jess Smith in my next novel, A Summer Romance with the Earl, I am currently starting on my own New Years’ resolution: Reading and finishing The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas.


I know, so romantic…


However, I am currently under a self-imposed ban on reading ANY romance books whilst penning…er typing, a new novel for my Earl for All Seasons series, lest another author’s great ideas wriggle their way into my plot.

At 1,276 pages Alexander Dumas’s ultimate novel of revenge is quite the heft, but so far I’m really enjoying reading a chapter a day and it’s nothing like anything I’ve ever read before. Though I do apologise in advance if a subplot about an imprisoned mad priest with a vast hidden fortune manages to worm itself into my light-hearted village romance…



The Budding of Fresh Ideas


So as new ideas form for my next novel, I will plot A Summer Romance till I reach that biting point when the next set of adventures with my close-knit cast of characters is ready to be written.


Hopefully this latest standalone novel in the series will feel like you’re coming home to meet up with old friends whilst getting to know new ones, set in a lovely little English village with a strong sense of community and plenty of action.


Just keep your eye on this blog from time to time and I’ll let you know when my next romance stories or novels are ready to launch.


In the meantime, if you enjoyed reading The Girl in the Red Scarf or any of my other books for that matter, please feel free to write a review or contact me to let me know what you think. I love hearing from my readers!


Happy New Year! Kate


Posted with many thanks to aweseomegang.com (non-affiliated link)







9 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page